Most business coaches will tell you that there are three key areas of your business that you should monitor in order to measure success.
- How many customers you have
- How much they spend with you, on average
- How often they order each year
The coaches will also tell you that, if you increase any one of these measures by just 10%, it will have a positive impact on your bottom line. For example, if you have 100 customers each year, placing 2 orders and spending £100 each time, your turnover will be £20,000. If you gain 10 extra customers, your turnover will be £22,000. If you also increase the average order value (AOV) to £110, your turnover will be £24,200. And if you can increase your order frequency to 2.2, your turnover will be £26,620!
What the coaches don't always tell you, is how to achieve those 10% increases. So here are some ideas:
- To increase the number of customers - referral scheme, newsletter, website, networking
- To increase your AOV - increase prices, cross-sell services, up-sell extras
- To increase order frequency - newsletter, thank you cards, reminder service, survey
Meanwhile, you should also monitor your expenses. If you usually spend £2,000p.a. on £20,000 turnover, your profit will be £18,000. But if you reduce expenses by 10% to £1,800 at the same time as increasing those three key metrics by 10%, your profit will be £24,820.
- To reduce expenses - cut costs, negotiate barter deals / joint ventures, networking
Jackie Barrie is a copywriter, designer and marketeer who specialises in making complex information appear simple. She calls it 'writing without waffle'. | |
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